Nathaniel’s Words on the 3rd Anniversary in Matara

Exodus 12:14 – “This is a day you are to commemorate; for the generations to come you shall celebrate it as a festival to the LORD – a lasting ordinance.” 

Nathaniel’s Words:  “The Jewish people came from Egypt, from severe oppression.  When they arrived in the promised land, Moses stood up and said, ‘Remember what God did for you in Egypt and never forget His name.’ And they had a passover feast to remind them of that day. They ate with their neighbors, coming together as one.

So today, we will remember this goodness.  We are celebrating 3 years of being here at Matara.  God used people and has done miracle after miracle to bring us to where we are today. We are on our own mountain. Today, we thank God.  Thank you for saying yes, Community of Faith.  If you could look into my heart, you could see joy that goes beyond understanding.  God bless you for being our friends, and we will see you here in year 4!”
 
As I spent 3 days in Bubanza first this year I was able to see the conditions of life there more intimately. Knowing this is where our friends from Matara came from it gave me a new perspective. The day before going up to Matara I was wondering if after 3 years would I see signs of forgetfulness; forgetting what God has done, so I made a mental note to look for it. 
 
I saw anything but that. 
 
From a little impromptu chorus of children singing to me, “What have I done to deserve all this,” to Nathaniel’s words above…I feel confident our friends will never forget what God has done for them.  
 
My friends in Matara challenged me. How easily I forget. How easily I take for granted everything God has done for me. I need to wake up every morning with the song in my heart, “What have I done to deserve all of this.” 
 
I’m hearing it in Kurundi right now…
 
 
2 thoughts on “Nathaniel’s Words on the 3rd Anniversary in Matara

  1. Thank you for reading Idelette! I just posted on your facebook a video we did last year that is "The Making of We Will Remember…" And theres some sweet surprises that I'll post over the next couple days on facebook about it. So precious. I'm loving having my Kel here!!

Leave a Reply

